• Welcome Guest
New York Mets

Welcome to the New York Mets.
Before posting, please review our Message Board Guidelines

• Murphy and Ike want the same money in arbitration??
  • To:All
  • 1/22/13
  • mobeen

I am not an expert in arbitration, but there is something wrong when Murphy wants 3.4 million, almost the same that Ike had asked. Ike is a much better offensive and defensive player.

Ike just settled for 3.1 mil - probably going to similar for Murphy.

• Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • murphstates
Murphy was projected to get slightly more in arbitration than Ike.
  • Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • giantsmets

"Ike is a much better offensive and defensive player. "

291 BA vs 227 says differently. Ike is a better Power Hitter but not a better offensive player than Murphy. The previous year Murphy batted 320 in close 400 AB's

• Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • mobeen
So just based on that BA, you would take Murphy over Ike for Offense? Ike won't be a .227 hitter, but Murphy will never be a power hitter. Now let's discuss defense, how do you factor that?
  • Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • metsicle

Murphy has more time in the majors. I believe this is his 2nd arbitration eligible year.

It makes perfect sense.

• Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • mobeen
Did they both hit arb. at the same time? how does arbitration work? I thought if they hit arb. at same time and had similar salaries last year. Based on that and stats. from last year, wouldn't Ike rate higher in the arbitration market? I don't know the answer, so just asking.
  • Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • giantsmets
My contention is the use of the term "much better" when the evidence clearly shows differently. Defensively that applies, but not offensively.
  • Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • mobeen
okay that's what I was wondering, if Murph had one extra year. That would make sense.
  • Reply to this Message
  • 1/22/13
  • murphstates