I'm a little surprised to hear Maddon try to defend Peralta as if every pitcher has pine tar in his glove.That would be news to me, but then I'm not an expert on the habits of professional baseball players. Obviously, we all know that you can't have stuff in or on your glove. Especially stuff to muck up the ball with. And sure, pitchers in the National League, so maybe they might have some residual pine tar in their glove. But obviously, the umpires are saying that Peralta's glove was obvious and had a significant amount.
Have you heard of pitchers having pine tar in their glove for any reason other than to doctor the ball???
Question:I fell asleep and missed the whole incident. I read that Peralta was ejected before throwing a pitch. Was the next batter awarded first base? (The story I read didn't say.)
A pitcher brought in is required to face at least one batter, and I don't think injury or ejection is an exception - that if there is injury or ejection before he faces a batter, the batter is awarded first base - but I have never seen it happen.
I never heard of that rule. I don't remember them awarding the batter first base last night.
The next pitcher who came in got the Nats out 1-2-3, and either Bob or FP said they might have been better off leaving Peralta in.
I turned the tv on just as the next pitcher was coming in and just missed it. I had to hurry and figure out what was going on so I could explain it to my wife.
No, the batter didn't get a base. Peralta came in, threw some warm-up pitches, and then Davey asked the ump to check before the batter got to the box.
"If it ain't roids, it's something else;" like when was the last time ya heard of a pitcher being accused of throwing spitballs?"
On June 11th, 2012, that's exactly what happened during a game between the Detriot Tigers and the Cincinnati Reds. Jose Valverde is the one accused, and there is a hotly contested video showing the act close up. What's dis woild commin ta?
"In his presser Davey said......"it probably was a dumb move (getting Peralta ejected) , since the lefty got us 1-2-3" "
Lombardozzi actually had a good at bat and was out only because of an excellent fielding play. The "dumb move" was Danny Espinosa then hacking at the first pitch to make it 2 out, nobody on. Whatever momentum or advantage we might have gained by causing the ejection of their intended reliever went right out the window right there.
The whole thing was pathetically hilarious, I mean Maddon accusing Davey of using insider info because Peralta pitched for us, thus ensinuating Johnson was aware of what Joel was doing also. "Bush league" was what he called it. ;~)
I can't believe you guys are taking DJs quote seiously and discussing it
I t was said tongue and cheek as in humorous
I'd much rather lose to a pitcher who was not cheating.
And I hope that our pitchers are not doing the same thing, as it would certainly hurt my respect for them.
Rich, you remember 2005. Didn't Jose Guillen give Frank Robinson some information about the Angels that he used when the Nats went to Anaheim that year? Or am I misremembering?
The difference is that year nobody outside Washington noticed that little incident. This year it's mentioned on both the Colin Cowherd show and Around The Horn.